Customer service outsourcing

January 12, 2009 at 8:56 pm (life issues)

What’s up with outsourcing to foreign countries?  Do these American customer-servicecompanies think that foreigners can help you when they can’t even, mentally, understand you?

I just spent 10 minutes on the phone with a Capital One customer service dude, who was probably in India, and I got NOWHERE!  I just wanted a bill for this month, since I hadn’t gotten one yet and I didn’t get one last month.  This account is new and I haven’t set up an online account, yet.  Why must I pay my bill online, anyway?

Our IT department at work is outsourced and I have no problem with the people.  But when you ask me the same flipping question 10 times, then you don’t understand what I want and you can’t help me.  So please find me someone, who speaks and understands English, who can.

*rant over*

7 Comments

  1. Skylers Dad said,

    Outsourcing has started up a cottage industry for software for people out of the US to run. You call them and based on your area code it brings up your weather, and local news. I actually had some guy from Bangalore (Robert, yeah right) ask me “How about those Bronco’s?”

  2. cheer34 said,

    When you get someone that you can not understand or more likely does not understand what you are asking……tell them you want to speak to some in the USA….they will transfer you….I have had this happen several times……

  3. teri said,

    That’s good to know, Cheer, I’ll try that next time.

  4. cinnkitty said,

    I will get ugly fast.. I don’t mean to, but I can’t help it. I will finally snap after about the 5th time repeating myself.. “CAN I PLEASE SPEAK TO SOMEONE WHO UNDERSTANDS AND SPEAKS ENGLISH!!?!?!?!?” aughhhhh

  5. thatgirl said,

    and yet unemployment rates are skyrocketing

  6. metalmom said,

    I have an ear for languages and for some reason I can get through the accents. Hubs, however, can’t even understand English. He asks for an English-speaker first and then screams for a human. He usually gets one or the other.

  7. Bubbles said,

    I cannot understand why Americans aren’t as upset about this issue as they were about the Japanese vs. US automobile manufacturers back in the what, ’70’s? For Christ’s sake, look at the US unemployment rate!

    Problem is, er, it is us – all of us. We what cheap products and investors want high stock prices… so the companies respond by firing all the US employees who want too much money and ship the work overseas. The investors love it because the reduced cost raises profits. The rich get richer (and they aren’t the ones losing their jobs, either), and the middle class disappears into poverty.

    I hate outsourcing. It has cost a lot of my friends jobs and even more of my friends stress related health problems.

Leave a Reply

