Facebook is freaking me out, a bit

January 31, 2009 at 6:25 pm (friends, high school, misc)

Okay, for those of you on Facebook, you might know what I mean.  It’s like people are coming out of the woodwork that you haven’t seen since high school or grammar school.  Or since your early 20’s and party days.

It’s been strange since the beginning of the year because I’ve seen old boyfriends and today, I saw some folks I went to grammar school and then high school with.  The memories are flooding back.  One of these people I was really good friends with, we had a huge fight in 7th grade and never spoke again.  Another I had a crush on in 6th grade.  Why are these types of memories coming back?  I haven’t spoken to these people in more than 25 years.  Did I mention that my 25th reunion is this year?  I don’t speak to anyone from school.  The few people that I spoke to after high school, we eventually lost touch.  I went to my 5th year reunion but that’s it.  Since I’m an introvert, and do not speak to these people, I don’t go to the other reunions.  It would be extrememly uncomfortable for me and I don’t want to talk to people that I haven’t spoken to in so long or at all.

I am “friends” with a couple of people on Facebook and I had friendships, to some degree, with them in high school.  There have been at least two people that requested to be friends but I never spoke to them in school, why do you want to be my friend, now?

This is like when I go through pictures, cards and letters that I saved from back then and I feel like I’m in a time warp.  I can’t stay there for too long because I feel lost.  Hopefully it’s just the shock of seeing these people’s names after such a long period of time.

Until then, I’m a lurker. 🙂

9 Comments

  1. Skylers Dad said,

    Facebook can be a bit weird, seeing names out there that drag up memories, either good or bad. I guess I treat it like I can just close the window anytime I want and they go away!

  2. coffeypot said,

    I hated high school and have not tried to keep in touch with any of those people – except for one I considered my friend and whom I dated between our former marriages. And it is strange you post this now because one of the guys I graduated with, who was a huge football hero and homecoming king, call me yesterday to see how I was doing. I haven’t spoken to him since some time in 1962 and I didn’t think he would know me from Adam. We talked for about ten minuets and then hung up. I am very confused.

  3. metalmom said,

    I didn’t care for my 5 year reunion. However I went to my 20th and I had a blast. Twice as many people were there and we were past feeling like we had something to prove. Most of the men were balding and overweight. The women…WOW. Nobody gave a shit who was overweight or gorgeous or tired looking. We didn’t see that. Plus all of the ‘cliques’ from HS were changed and the new ‘cliques’ were such a mix of people. I encourage you to try the reunion one more time.

    FB is strange. But how do you know that someone who didn’t talk to you in HS isn’t just a lonely person now who just wants to connect with someone….anyone….? I tend to give them the benefit of the doubt knowing that I can always ”de-friend’.

  4. cheer34 said,

    not one of my high school chums, middle school or grade school friends are on facebook…….not one!…..the only friends I have on facebook are my kids friends and people I have met through work……and family……..the people I know now are not on facebook either…with the exception of one……what is it with people my age anyway….when I ask people if they are on some look at me like I am an alien and some say they do not have the time…….I love facebook……when I mention that I have a social blog people ask what that is…….am I that unusual

  5. Trukindog said,

    Dear Lurker 😉 please be my friend and go here http://askspikeonline.com/ and vote for my boy Jesse, We’ll love ya forever & a half…oh and ask all your lurker friends to do the same. Thanks 🙂

  6. thatgirl said,

    it’s called water under the bridge, live and let live, as adults we realize that as children we were … retarded due to hormonal issues!! lol!!

    or as i say … i like to see how badly those mean people aged … don’t fuck with the karma queen!!

  7. Dick Small said,

    It must be nice to have friends…

  8. Bubbles said,

    I have had a similar experience with facebook as cheer described. I think it is because I was pretty much a loner. I don’t remember many people and I suppose few remember me. We moved a lot. Then when I go look, I find very few people anyway.

    Strangely, my kids “friend” anyone and everyone. I guess I apply the word “friend” much differently, too! I don’t really feel like asking people to “be my friend”. If feels weird!!

    Oh, I’m also with Dick Small, it must be nice… 🙂

  9. Michele said,

    I felt the same way about Facebook…People that supposedly couldn’t stand me in high school are asking me to be their friend….Is this a set up? I wonder…

Leave a Reply

