Tent homes

March 20, 2009 at 6:39 pm (life issues)

I was watching the BBC America news the other night and they were in California reporting on how people who have become unemployed and homeless are now living in tent communities.  I don’t know why but I felt comforted in a way and also sad that it had come to that.  I felt comforted because they had each other, so to speak.  They weren’t alone.  They still lived in a community and were somewhat safe rather than being out, by themselves, on the side of a road, or something.

It did remind me of the pictures I’ve seen of the Great Depression and all the people looking for work and living in communities, with their families.

I really hope this economy doesn’t get any worse.  I know I have family and friends that I could live with if I ever lost my job and/or house.  Some of you are already dealing with this.  For those of you who haven’t been through this, have you thought about what you might do, just in case?

12 Comments

  1. nicole said,

    i almost lost my job, my father was laid off this winter and is collecting unemployment for the 1st time in his life, and it took my mother almost 2 years to find a new job (she just found one and is finally moving here! yay!)- so i know what it means to have to take a good long look at your financial future as well as the financial crises affecting your loved ones. It’s scary when you feel like at any moment, the rug could be pulled out from under you and you could be left lying flat on your ass.

    but i must say, this whole thing is the first time that i, (a 20-something american), has had to really feel worried in that way. so it has sort-of been a blessing in disguise. it has reminded me that material possessions are not as important as family and community. it has reminded me that all i have could be lost in a couple of months of bad luck. in that way, i am no different than my neighbors and we are all in this thing together. sure, i would hate to lose my house and car and nice furniture and nice clothes and shoes and make-up and and – dare i even say it- my purses! but living in a community of tents and knowing that i was part of a community that looked out for one another could provide a perfectly happy life as well, i think- it does in most other parts of the world, after all…

  2. Linda said,

    My plan would be to move us in with my parents.

    Of course, my parents don’t know that. 🙂

    It is getting scary all over, though. I know someone who lost her job recently and is rapidly running out of money and may have to move cross country to stay with family and get back on her feet. I’ve also heard about people moving in with their exes just because they can’t pay the rent themselves! And I suspect the stories will get crazier as time goes on.

    For now, thank goodness, we have a roof (leaky as it is) over our heads.

  3. Philly said,

    Thank god we still have our home. Hub isn’t making as much $$ as normal but we are really watching our pennies.
    I watched a show similar to what you watched, or maybe it was the same one, and a few of the couples had children who were grown with families and didn’t even know their parents were living in a tent..
    This is truely sad.

  4. Joe said,

    I’d move back to my parents home, but there really isn’t enough room for all of us, so they’d probably have to find accomodations elsewhere..

  5. Teri said,

    Philly – I would never allow a friend or family member to live like that, especially my parent. That’s unbelievable.

  6. Just Dave said,

    I remember that they called those tent cities Hoovervilles in the ’30s after Herbert Hoover. Maybe we should call the new ones Bushburgs or Cheney Cities.

    I have a place to go if it ever came to that. I have been with this company for 44 years so I feel fairly secure. It is also an extremely well managed company from a financial standpoint so I guess I am pretty lucky. My son got laid off but immediately found another job as he is a super salesman and good salespeople can almost always find work. The rest of the gang is holding on.

  7. DrZibbs said,

    Three of my best friends that had $80 – $100 Plus thousand per year jobs have lost their jobs in the last 2 months.

    It’s pretty scary.

  8. bubbles said,

    I have talked to my family. We have each other. None of us expects to have to lean, but we know that we won’t let each other starve or go homeless. We are three households within on mile.

    If Mr. Ex doesn’t work my household is screwed. I’ve been hunting for work, but it is depressing as hell. I am being exclusive for now, but time will force me take any nickel I can get.

    My brother retired Jan 1. Timing was very bad with the economy, but I’m glad he did it for health reasons. He is on fixed income. which is nothing because he saved whatever was left after the market crashed… practically in a mattress.

    His daughter, my niece, has a good paying job, single mom. If that goes she is screwed, though.

    If we need to lean on each other we will. Let’s all hope for better, though.

  9. Linda said,

    Maybe if bad goes to worse, we’ll get a bunch of us together and form a big bloggy commune! 😉

  10. cheer34 said,

    we aren’t destitute yet….G man’s business is very very very slow…tied into the economy…so we ware concerned…3 months before the last big stock crash G man told our stockbroker to sell everything and put the money in the cash column…the broker talked G man out of it….we lost a ton of money….thank goodness we are not at the retirement age…altho G man was hopeing to exit his business in 2-3 years….now we are looking at 10-15 years….the stress is taking it’s toll on his health…he would like me to find a job……but that is another post for me to write……If we had to leave our house and move in with a family member it would be my sister in law in Flordia….G man would never move in with my family……if my family needed help…..as in the past I do not think we could offer it again…….we loaned money (thousands of dollars) to both my brothers and never were we paid back…my one brother even pulled us into his bankruptcy problem…..it was a mess…..My mom I would be able to take care of……she could move in with us or us with her…….I hate to think about all this…….I need a beer

  11. Teri said,

    Cheer – I know what you mean. pass the beer!

  12. thatgirl said,

    i can’t read the comments … this scares the shit out of me seeing as how i do reporting everyday and see our sales getting lower and lower … if i were to walk up to the building tomorrow and the doors were locked … it would not surprise me

    i didn’t watch this but my boss did, i think she said she almost cried … her hubs has been out of a job for several several months

Leave a Reply

