Digging up more relatives

May 6, 2009 at 7:05 pm (family tree, garden, Uncategorized, US History, vacation)

Some of you know that I went to Nashville this past weekend for some family fun.  I left on Thursday morning and returned Monday night.  I saw some distant cousins I’ve never met, a few of us brain stormed on where to go with our research, I saw some graves and some Nashville sites.  Here are the highlights:

kitty trying to stow away in my luggage

kitty-in-suitcase

 

a family gravestone

grave-stone

 

The Ryman Theater, home of the original Grand Old Opry

ryman-theater

 

me and Elvis

me-and-elvis

 

 Belle Meade Mansion, near Nashville 

belle-meade-mansion

 

 Belle Meade garden 

belle-meade-garden

 

 The Hermitage, Andrew Jackson’s plantation 

the-hermitage2

 

The Hermitage garden

hermitage-garden

 

 the tomb of Andrew and Rachel Jackson 

andrew-and-rachel-jacksons-grave

 

It seems that everyone raised, bred and raced horses back then.

11 Comments

  1. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Looks like you had an enjoyable trip! I’ve never been to Nashville but it looks like the scenery is beautiful and the buildings knee deep in history.
    Elvis looks a whole lotta fun, thankyaverymuch!

  2. cinnkitty said,

    What IS IT with kitties and luggage??? 🙂 I can’t get my luggage out for anything w/o Squeaker trying to stow away.

  3. Vegetable Assassin said,

    Well now, I hope you and Elvis kept things decent, missy. I hear he’s quite the guy. I hope you had a chaperone! 🙂

    • Teri said,

      Believe it or not, he was the perfect gentleman.

  4. Skylers Dad said,

    You know, I think that is the first picture of you I have seen! Looking good!!

    • Teri said,

      I have a picture or two on my facebook page, Chris.

  5. Finn said,

    I’ve never been to Nashville; I need to fix that!

  6. bubbles said,

    Great trip! Thanks for sharing. Loved the shot of you and Elvis!!

  7. Just Dave said,

    Great pictures. I really want to spend some time at The Hermitage next time I’m in the area. Andy Jackson was a fascinating character.

  8. coffeypot said,

    I agree with Skyler’s Day, you are a bit of eye candy, but that Elivs looks more like a Fonzie to me. I’m gald you had a good time.

  9. thatgirl said,

    isn’t it technically ryman auditorium? just sayin …

    there is a story line in the sookie stackhouse books with elvis … it’s kinda funny … someone tried to turn him to a vampire after he was already dead and now he’s a little …. off

Leave a Reply

