We’re going to be late…..

June 10, 2009 at 7:30 pm (Cindy, friends)

Do any of you have friends that are habitually late for things?  Where you have to tell them an hour earlier than the original time, just so you can make sure that you might get there in a timely fashion?

I have such a friend.  She always says she doesn’t intend to be late.  She gets stressed out because the people waiting for her are upset that she’s late but I don’t see any changes in the behavior or real concern of the lateness.  It’s almost like we have to deal with it because “she can’t help it”.  Now, she does have some ailments that could contribute to this, like Rheumatoid Arthritis but it’s not that bad that she can’t move.

It’s getting to the point that I try my best to not commit to anything that requires us being there at a certain time.

I’m under the firm impression that when someone is habitually late, they have no respect for that other person or their time.

It’s something that bothers me, tremendously.

21 Comments

  1. coffeypot said,

    It could also be a control thing. SHE determines the time things will start. Or she’s just a dumb ass.

    • Teri said,

      Coffeypot, I love her to pieces but I think it might be the last item….

  2. Sushiboy said,

    Just plan events that are an hour long. Start on time and finish on time. After a few times of missing the whole thing, she might get the idea.

  3. Vegetable Assassin said,

    I used to have a room mate/friend who was perpetually late for EVERYTHING. She was terrible. It was so bad that I’d need to meet her in town at 4pm and I’d tell her to meet me at 3:15pm because she was always 45 minutes late. That way she’d get there almost in time. 🙂 It never failed either. I’d show up at 4 and I’d still be there first.

    • teri said,

      It bugs the shit out of me when I am on time for everything and the same people are so incredibly late.

      I hate the fact that you have to do these types of things just to get somewhere.

  4. Philly said,

    I hate being late and when people keep me waiting !! I bitch all the time about it!

  5. Finn said,

    I’m not the best at being punctual, but an hour late is beyond the pale. And incredibly rude and inconsiderate.

    • Teri said,

      Finn,

      When someone is more than 15 minutes late, all the time, it makes me irate and not want to do anything with these people.? I can’t stand the same people being continually late.? I feel like my time is not important and I take it personally.

      A few minutes late, to me, is no big deal. But still, when it’s every single time, I don’t like it.

  6. Skylers Dad said,

    I hate that also! To me, it just means that they think they are more important than the other people.

  7. Joe said,

    I’m chronically (sp?) early. Being late bothers me. Late people bother me. My stepsister’s a chronically late person. I hate her. she’s a bitch.

  8. Joe said,

    She’s a bitch all-around, actually….

  9. thatgirl said,

    ok … well … remember a few weeks ago when i sent you that text … yeah … have a friend with this problem … drives me INSANE

    when you say you are going to be somewhere at a certain time that doesn’t mean you call them and tell them you are leaving the house …. a half hour AFTER you were supposed to be there

    some people just don’t get that when you need to be somewhere … think about what you need to do …. going to target to get something to wear for the event you are going to, an hour before you have to be there when it takes a half hour to get there and you haven’t even taken a shower yet ….

    ok … ok … ok …. i’ll stop now

    • Teri said,

      yeah, I thought of you as I was typing this post. Have you ever said anything to this person?

  10. Just Dave said,

    I used to be late all the time but I corrected my behavior. I get to the airport so early I’m waking the counter folks up. I can’t stand being late now. If I’m going to be late for a reason beyond my control (wreck on freeway, tornado,something like that), I at least call and give the person the option of either leaving without me or rescheduling the appoinment (if applicable). Just to show up, fat, dumb and happy an hour late is unacceptable.

  11. metalmom said,

    Leave without her.
    Find another friend who wants to do stuff with you. *ahem*
    Stress is no excuse and neither is RA. If that is the case, she should only have to allow more time to prepare….not more time to be late.

  12. cinnkitty said,

    Yup…. and I leave without them. I make it known that if you aren’t here by such and such time I *WILL* leave. And then let them know they are more than welcome to meet me/us wherever, later.

    I can’t STAND tardiness!!

  13. Catherinette said,

    Being late is so exceptionally rude.

    I’m with Cinnkitty on this one. I will leave them behind. If I’m going to the movies and they don’t show up, I’ll call and tell them I’m going to get seats and they can meet me when they get there.

    Bastards.

  14. Cayman said,

    I used to be that person until a friend told me that it says I have no respect for her time. Since she was so hurt by it, I knew I needed to grow up and stop being so rude.

    • Teri said,

      Mark, I think more people need to speak up and not allow certain behaviors, anymore. I’m glad you have respect for her time, now. =)

    • Teri said,

      Cayman, didn’t realize that response was from you until I sent the response email. Sorry for calling you mark!

Leave a Reply

