I’m thankful I still have a job

July 25, 2009 at 3:44 pm (work related)

Some of you might have seen my post on FB awhile back about our recent merger proceedings with a competitor of ours.  That gasp you heard on June 28/29th was me and the peeps I work with who were blindsided by a merger announcement.

merger_3

In the meantime, the powers that be are constantly talking about the “merger of equals”, and how they are excited to be doubling the business, etc.  In all honesty, as time goes by and we have more meetings to discuss and understand the process, I’m feeling a tad more comfortable with the whole thing.  It seems to be a good fit and we compliment each other in areas that each of us is lacking.  Both companies have been wanting to double the business.  The company that we are merging with is a little bigger than we are and they are more dominant outside of North America.  Whereas, we are more dominant in North America than the rest of the globe, even though we have offices in almost every country, it seems.

Everyone is still very cautious and in limbo.  They don’t know whether to look for a new job or just stay put.  I guess it depends on the department.  I would assume finance, HR, marketing, etc. would be feel more uncertain as these department will be doubled by the merger.  Some of other departments, like consulting, might be oka because they work with the clients and bring in the money.

merger_2

We shall see.  Supposedly, the merger process should be done by the end of the year.  I would assume they will be looking at some departments, in the meantime, to figure out how they can merge them.  Other departments might have to wait because they are bigger and it will take more effort to merge.

merger_1

16 Comments

  1. Skylers Dad said,

    I have never been part of a merger that was “equal”, I hope everything works out well for you!

    • Teri said,

      yeah, that’s why most of the folks are on the edge of their seats. But since the higher ups say we really compliment each other and fit like puzzle pieces, together, I’m having a tiny, eensy bit of hope….

  2. Joe said,

    So what kind of company do you work for? What kind of business?? I’m not sure you ever said.

    • Teri said,

      It mentions it in the linked article. We are an Human Resources consulting firm.

      • Joe said,

        Like I’m supposed to know What a human resources consulting firm is.. Sorry, i really have no clue. Maybe I’ll look it up somewhere..

      • Teri said,

        you’re a funny guy. We have departments like health and welfare, change implementation, executive compensation, investment consulting, etc. the department I work for, investment consulting, helps our clients choose funds and investment managers that they will invest money in for their 401(k), pension plans and 403(b) plans, etc. I believe some of the other departments help our clients with the people of their companies and the human resources end of it. We also have a huge actuarial department which determines retirement ages, benefits, etc.

  3. Sans Pantaloons said,

    We have just undergone a merger where I work. In our case we had to adopt the systems and practices of the other company. This was both good and bad in equal measure, since transition is always fraught with difficulty, but a number of our staff were given the opportunity for career advancement within the bigger organisation.
    If you find that path in front of you, in might be prudent to follow it.
    I wish you good fortune for the future!

  4. just Dave said,

    Smart companies keep good people regardless of who is the dominant organization in a merger. I would hang loose and see what tomorrow brings.

  5. metalmom said,

    That truly sucks. I can’t imagine the waiting and waiting!
    I’ll keep a positive thought for you.

  6. bubbles said,

    Ah, the fun of transitions. I’m a change management person, so i live for the stuff. Funny, who does your company call to help them with change management? Doing it for themselves is a little like a doctor treating him/herself, isn’t it?

    🙂

  7. coffeypot said,

    Having worked for many years with AT&T and later Lucent Technologies, and being heavily involved with the General Ledger functions, among others, I have been through may mergers, buy outs and takeovers. To say it is a headache is a gross understatement. I had rather slide down a razorblade into a pool of iodine than go through another one again. OH YEAH! I’m retired (doing the Snoopy happy feet dance) I don’t have to do that shit again – ever. The only merger, buyout and takeover I have to worry about now is with the hottie at the end of the bar.

    • Teri said,

      But I’m sure that razor blade will come in handy when the wife finds out about that last sentence.  See, it never ends. =)

      New comment on your post #1278 “I’m thankful I still have a job” uthor : coffeypot (IP: 99.157.99.115 , 99-157-99-115.lightspeed.tukrga.sbcglobal.net) -mail : johnjudyc@att.net RL : hois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=99.157.99.115 omment: aving worked for many years with AT&T and later Lucent Technologies, and being eavily involved with the General Ledger functions, among others, I have been hrough may mergers, buy outs and takeovers. To say it is a headache is a gross nderstatement. I had rather slide down a razorblade into a pool of iodine than o through another one again. OH YEAH! I’m retired (doing the Snoopy happy feet ance) I don’t have to do that shit again – ever. The only merger, buyout and akeover I have to worry about now is with the hottie at the end of the bar.

  8. coffeypot said,

    My wife was the hottie I was referring too. Honestly! She was. Don’t you believe me? I have no reason to lie to you…I’m not married to you so I don’t have to lie to you.:-)

    • Teri said,

      Okay, I’ll believe you this time.? But just this once.

  9. thatgirl said,

    there is no such thing as a merger of equals … it’s fighting over whose name gets to go on the big shiny sign … wells and norwest did a merger of equals and in 2007 when i was leaving … they were still working on it in some areas …. i swear to god when you become a VP or sr exec you loose your fucking mind

    • Teri said,

      They said the new name will be Towers Watson & Co. We’ll see how this goes…

Leave a Reply

